Important Survey - Please Participate ×
Dr. David Healy - Raising Awareness of Inappropriate or Harmful Deprescribing Practices ×

Covid Setback

[Ma...]

Hi buddies. I haven’t been here in a long time…. I’m 3 years off and was living life almost symptom free before I tested positive for COVID two weeks ago. It’s hard to decipher between what’s covid and what is my benzo withdrawal syndrome kicking back in. I’m paralyzingly fatigued, crazy air hunger (pulse ox is reading normal) and severe anxiety that has me vibrating from within. I’m devastated… and scared. This is my first time having COVID. I’m fully vaxxed and had not yet received a booster.

I’m hoping to hear from those of you who experienced this and hopefully had a positive outcome, eventually. It’s debilitating to feel so well and then go back to what feels like acute. Any encouragement appreciated.

Edited by [Ma...]

@[Ma...] in my opinion, your s/x are from COVID, not from a re-emergence of your benzo s/x. I got COVID in '21 and the s/x you describe are just about what I experienced. Especially the fatigue. I was 5 years  away from tapering at that point and absolutely benzo s/x free. I know it feels like acute, but COVID  hell is its own hell. Close, but no cigar. I eventually had to use an inhaler for my air hunger. Hopefully you will feel better in a couple of weeks . . . and I believe your suffering is indeed due to COVID. It's not reasonable that benzo s/x would just flare up. Especially when you had been feeling so well. So . . . maybe you just have to bite the bullet and ride this out. What about Paxlovid? Is that a possibility? Best to you. 

• Like 1

@[or...]Thank you so much for responding. Perhaps you are right, it’s very hard to tell. It feels just like acute, maybe worse because I’m full of cold/phlegm too. I believe I am past the window for Paxlovid. I’m on day 14. It feels impossible to feel better, each day I feel more debilitated. I pray you are right and that this passes soon.