Important Survey - Please Participate ×

Xanax taper and symptoms

[Ni...]

Hello everyone. This is my first time here. I have been tapering Xanax since Aug 2023. I started at .5mg three times a day. So 1.5mg a day total. I have worked my way down to .15mg a day. .06 twice a day and .03 once a day. I feel like i am so close and yet so far away. The symptoms don't stop. I experience pain, respiratory depression, premature heart beats, dizziness and cognitive issues all day every day. My last cut was 6 weeks ago and i haven't leveled out at all. I don't know if there are any changes i can make to make this easier on myself. Any help is appreciated. 

[...]

@[Ni...], hello to you and welcome to BenzoBuddies! Guess you've found the right place to be advised and supported.

I can imagine what you're going through right now since I was there too. Feel for you with all my soul! Sorry i'm not much of an expert at tapering, although somehow managed my own to the end. I'm sure other members will look in and give you their piece of advice. 

As for me, you seem to be doing the tapering too fast. Could you tell how long you have been taking xanax; if there is any other medication you're taking to cover the symptoms; what the reason was for you taking benzo. Think it's important and can give us a better idea of your circumstances.

Anyway, Good Luck to you!)

[Ni...]

I was on it for 2 years and stopped and then started 5 months later started again. that was April of 2023. I started tapering in Aug of 2023. Just to add, it seems like i feel worse after i take my first dose of the day which is usually 8am. 

[Em...]

Hi Nick,

It seems like we have tapered on a very similar rate... but I was on 2mg and am now on 0.75 over nearly 8 months. So you are at lower dose and these drugs bind to more receptors at lower doses. Meaning that towards the end you have to take it much slower than early on.