Important Survey - Please Participate ×
Dr. David Healy - Raising Awareness of Inappropriate or Harmful Deprescribing Practices ×

Pharmacist wanting to better understand benzo withdrawal

[CC...]

Hi there! I'm a pharmacist from Australia and I want to better understand benzo withdrawal so I can support my patients more effectively. I hope its okay that I'm here!

Hello CC647, welcome to BenzoBuddies,

Yes, its actually good you're here, the more professionals who understand what we go through, the better.  Please feel free to look around and engage with members, I hope you come away with a better understanding of what taking these drugs as prescribed has done to us. 

Pamster

Hi there! I'm a pharmacist from Australia and I want to better understand benzo withdrawal so I can support my patients more effectively. I hope its okay that I'm here!

I took Temazepam for only 21 days and am now in my 22 month of recovery.  I never took a benzo before this.  Does not affect everyone like this but for the many of us that it does, the experience is just awful and overwhelming.  I pretty much cold turkeyed as my Dr. Said that this could not be physical dependence issues and that due to my limited time on it, there was no need to taper.

Welcome and really glad you are here :) for the same reasons Pamster mentions!  Yesterday I watched a video from a Pharmacist and I'll share it below my reply.  I was so encouraged to hear his thoughts on Benzodiazapine prescriptions. 

• 2 weeks later...

Based on my experience, its hard to overstate the possible problems with benzo withdrawls. I found it most true to think of benzos as a "deal with it later" drug.

Imagine blowing a puff of air into a balloon for every stressful, sad, or anxious event that (say xanax) prevented you from reacting to.