Intense Exercise

[Br...]

Hi Buddies I have been off Ativan for a month now. I was only on 10 weeks total mostly taper. I had a messed up nervous system before this so was more susceptible to damage in that time frame. I am 23 I have been working out since i was like 12 years old. since like 2018 i have been weightlifting 5 days a week. that got put on hold since october of last year. A week after being off ativan even though i suffer from extreme fatigue and sleep issues i forced myself back into intense weightlifting and have been doing it ever since. i refuse to let this take it from me. but i believe i am worse off then when i even jumped. just extreme sensitive to quite literally everything. i was also taking NAC 600 mg once a day since getting off which i stopped a week ago I don’t know if that made me worse too. Currently i’m only taking beef liver pills to try to get nutrients in me which i suspect are very low after all this trauma. My sleep these last few days has been worse than even at the end of my taper and the first few weeks off. Even before the worsening I don’t think my body gets deep rest i have multiple dreams and never feel rested. I am worried I have permanently damaged myself or prolonged my recovery by exercising so hardly but it’s my favorite thing to do and my only outlet right now. 

[Bu...]

Hey @[Br...],

I'm sorry things are so tough right now. I really don't think you've done any permanent damage by working out.  Physical activity can really rev up some people's CNS.  But just because there is a flair in symptoms, it doesn't mean that you've done an irreparable damage; it just feels crappy.

I know you didn't take Ativan for all that long, but if you had preexisting issues with your CNS, it might just take you a little longer to recover.  A month off just isn't a very long time, even given short term use.