Important Survey - Please Participate ×

How to deal with dark depression when tapering?

[Je...]

Hey everyone.  I’ve been trying to be as positive as I can but some days are so dang rough just to get out of bed.  The fight inside my head is so daunting and draining.  I’ve been taping for 6 months from a year of Xanax and I’ve gotten down to 9mg of Valium from 30mg Valium.

But the thought that I will probably be fighting this depression for another year or more seems unbearable.  I believe I am so strong.  I’ve struggled with depression and anxiety my entire life, but not to this level.

I am also an addict and when tapering off Valium I got addicted to opiates which landed me in rehab.  When I got out i relapsed as the opiates were the only thing masking the benzo wd symptoms.  

Im fighting so many different battles all at once.  I don’t even know how I can continue to fight when they are coming at all different angles.  I have a good doctor that’s tapering me slow but even holding the depression is debilitating.  

I’ve fought for 30 years and was barely holding on, but this depression hits so much deeper.  

I know we all have our battles with different symptoms and I thought I was strong like everyone here but at times I just don’t know how I can battle addiction plus getting off this crap.  

I got accepted into a masters program for addiction and hoping to get my PhD in addiction but I’m so afraid I won’t be able to make it.  My life has been such a waste so far.  Years wasted on addiction.  Years fighting.  And here I am with a much larger and much harder fight.  

I guess I’m just trying to find hope.  I’ve tried to ask god or the universe to help me through this.  Yet, I have just sunk further into despair. 

Thank you everyone for listening.  I hope one day I could look back at this post and be proud of making it through. 

• Like 4