Important Survey - Please Participate ×

Can't believe I'm going through this again...

[ka...]

Hi folks

Long time lurker first time poster, love the site. Good to know I'm not alone.

I've been a benzo user before - I've had a couple of habits lasting two and three years each time - so I'm no newbie. But here I am again, coming off the back of another habit, and like I say in the post title I can't believe I'm doing it again. Opiates are nothing compared to a benzo rattle.

So I've got a lot of the stuff I need (except maybe Flumazenil!) - I've got Gabapentin, Mirtazapine, some (prescribed) weed high in CBD, Multivitamins, Magnesium, Niacin, loads and loads of soluble vitamin C tablets and Chamomile tea.

I'm a parent but split with my partner so she's looking after our child while I do this and I've got a week off work. I know from experience I could be looking at 3-6 months before I get back to anything resembling feeling normal again but I've done it before, and the last times I did it practically bareback, just alcohol and weed for company. This time I'm prepared but I'm older - I've got responsibilities I have to meet - so the stakes are higher.

Despite my experience at this I know I'll be missing something simple that someone here might kindly tell me worked for them. If I am missing anything that could help please let me know. Thanks in advance, and thanks for reading.

Hello kaptaink - welcome to BenzoBuddies!

We're glad you found us.  You'll find plenty of good information here as well as support from others who understand what this process is like.  Please tell us more about your situation.  What benzo have you been taking, what dose, how long, etc?  We can help you plan a sensible taper that will help keep withdrawal symptoms manageable so you're able to function as well as possible during your taper.  We typically suggest tapering  with small cuts (5-10%) every 10 days or so as symptoms allow.  But you'll learn more as you explore the site.