Pharmacist tapering off clonazepam would like advice please ! I am new .

[so...]

Hey guys , heard about this forum , wanted to get your advice . As yoh read I am a pharmacist , been on 3 mg clonazepam for roughly 15+ years . Took it for generalized anxiety disorder when I was a kid . Prob shoulda not done that ! 

I started tapering 0.25 mg monthly off my daily dose in June of 2023 . I recently hit 1 mg daily and these withdrawals started hurting man . Nausea (which I hate ) , low appetite , minor anxiety attacks , sweating .. you all prob know . Been one month now on 0.5 mg AM and 0.5 mg PM . I use 100mg gabapentin Once to 3 times daily for calming . Valerian tea to help sleep . I have to remain highly functional and do not think I can continue dropping 0.25 mg daily / per month … it’s hurting mentally . I didn’t have anxiety like this when I began taking it , so I attribute it to withdrawel . anyone have any advice regarding other drugs to help smoothe the withdrawal ? I hear lyrica is showing good off label use to curb anxiety and other symptoms . I was considering dropping (when I feel better ) by 0.125 mg which is as low as I can get in a pharmacy . any advice is appreciated . Thanks guys . 

[Al...]

Hi @[so...] 

I understand the urge to take something to smooth withdrawal, but I would be careful with Lyrica (Pregabalin). You could easily get dependent and need to taper off that as well. I think the best strategy would be to take the time to stabilize and then start a slower taper. Hopefully some of the more experienced members of the site can add their insight here and hopefully suggest a suitable taper rate for you.

Edited by [Al...]

[so...]