Important Survey - Please Participate ×

Benzo and antidepressant interactions

[Br...]

Hi. I've been holding for 3 months. My physical symptoms are not bad, big fatigue and maybe some other things here and there I don't notice. Mental stuff like brain fog, derealization, anxiety, ocd rumination is causing me issue. Because of this I've been thinking I need a different antidepressant because I took a genesight test and my current AD, zoloft 25mg, doesn't mesh well with my DNA. I was looking for something specifically for ocd, so was leaning towards prozac. Someone here golf me to go to surviving antidepressants but they aren't accepting new members until the new year and I need to figure this out before my appointment tomorrow.

On SA I learned some startling news, apparently antidepressants are just as bad as benzos and everyone's trying to get off?!? AND AD create anxiety and shit so doctors give you the benzo to calm that down so I've been tapering off of the thing that is intrinsically linked to my antidepressant. They suggest getting off your AD before your benzo because of this. I think this needs to be talked much more about here because this is dangerous. 

Now I'm left with the fear that I will never have a pharmaceutical crutch/help even though I feel I desperately need it. I don't understand what to do. Sure, chemical imbalances aren't real or whatever, but my brain does not enjoy being alive a lot of the time so taking medicine helps that, but apparently all the medicine is bad, and maybe it doesn't help at all? 

I could chalk up my current negative experience to benzo withdrawal, but what about before I ever touched a pharmaceutical? I still suffered horribly. I've been in therapy for more than 10 years on and off and I'm still like this so idk.

I’ve heard members say their A/D has quit working for them and they feel better after switching to another one so maybe your doctor has a suggestion for you.