Important Survey - Please Participate ×
Dr. David Healy - Raising Awareness of Inappropriate or Harmful Deprescribing Practices ×

What is hitting a wall?

[mi...]

What do people mean when they say they've hit a wall? I've been tapering relatively easily, 2-3% every 14 days for 8 months or so. Minimal symptoms, occasional minor flareups. I've gotten down to .172 K and all of a sudden I feel like I've started all over again. Depression, panic attacks, anxiety, akathisia, insomnia, weight loss, feelings of dread and doom, fear of leaving house. I was 100% functional just a few weeks ago with a job at a school and an active social life. I know it gets harder as you get lower, but I expected that to come on gradually. This feels like the rug was pulled out from under me and quickly and scares the heck out of me.

I have not once cheated on my taper or altered it. Yes it is linear so the % has been slowly increasing from probably 4% per month to 6.4% per month over the 8 months, but that's still low. I've also recently switched generics, but this started before the switch and has only worsened after it. I can't think of any other reason for these symptoms. I've been feeling more sensitive to things over the months I suppose so maybe it finally just built and came to a head and fell apart. Stress at work was somewhat present. But it never bothered me like this before. Can someone reassure me that this is temporary and that I'm not the only one to have had this happen on such a slow taper and seemingly out of nowhere? And I'm assuming everyone is going to tell me to hold until I stabilize, right?