Please Check, and if Necessary, Update Your BB Account Email Address as a Matter of Urgency ×
A Request for Help from Members BIC (Benzodiazepine Information Coalition) ×
  • Please Donate

For nearly 20 years, BenzoBuddies has assisted thousands of people through benzodiazepine withdrawal. Help us reach and support more people in need. More about donations here.

Donate with PayPal button

Joining the insomnia club

[xe...]

I've been tapering Klonopin this final leg for about 4 months now. The first two months or so even after the bad cuts I still slept fine, in fact I think I got more restful sleep! The past 2 months I haven't gotten a single, not one, good night's sleep. No matter how good a day I have, I simply cannot sleep more than 4 bad hours before being awoken by some cortisol rush and getting only further a few brief nightmares the rest of the night of lying in bed miserably. By the time the sun comes up, forget about it, that's all she wrote.

With many months left of this taper, I'm trying to figure out how to cope with chronic sleep deprivation. I could deal with it for a while, but it's just catching up, day after day after day, I am getting very lethargic and zoned out all the time. It's making the good days very hard to enjoy. I feel like falling asleep quite often during the middle of the day and have to struggle hard to keep my eyes open, naps are incredibly toxic and I feel awful if I take one. I have no problems falling asleep, it's the staying asleep that's the trick.

Did anyone go through a very long period of insomnia and bad nightmare sleep that went away before their taper was over?

I'm not willing to take any drugs, been there done that. I never had problems sleeping ever except in w/d...

[36...]