Important Survey - Please Participate ×

Pretty Scared

[as...]

Hi All,

Well first, let me start by saying that I've ALWAYS had depression.  My entire life.  So, move forward about 15 years and now I'm 26.  I am a vet, I have PTSD and addiction issues.  About a month after getting back from Iraq, (I was sent home after 16 days due to a non-combat related injury) I felt pretty hopeless.  I felt like I had failed myself, my dad (also a vet) and my family.  I started using heroin and three months later, I was addicted.  I was what some people would call a functioning junkie.  I would go to work, pay my bills, keep my house clean and all that good stuff.  But, was hiding from the world.  No one at work really knew that I was having heroin WD's.  As soon as the day was over, I would drive to see my dealer and poof...my worries were gone (for a few hours).  Move forward a little more and the addiction was getting to be a bit much.  I could barley move in the morning, I would have to escape to the bathroom (at work) a few times a day to barf my brains out and I was getting VERY depressed (tried killing myself with ambien and vodka but was rescued by my mom).  So, I decided that I needed a way out.  I NEEDED to get clean...I was killing myself and hurting my family.

So, I heard about this "new" medication called suboxone.  It was an opiate, but it did not get you high...just got rid of opiate wd's.  Suboxone is a special medication and only a handful of doctors can prescribe it.  Still going through opiate WD's I went to see my primary care doctor and told him what I was going through.  WOW!  What a coincidence...my PCD was a Suboxone doctor.  He drug tested me (to make sure I was an addict because you can make a killing selling suboxone on the street) and poof I was in recovery.  He also decided to prescribe me 30 MG of Tranxene each day to help with my PTSD.  It helped.