Please Check, and if Necessary, Update Your BB Account Email Address as a Matter of Urgency ×
A Request for Help from Members BIC (Benzodiazepine Information Coalition) ×
  • Please Donate

For nearly 20 years, BenzoBuddies has assisted thousands of people through benzodiazepine withdrawal. Help us reach and support more people in need. More about donations here.

Donate with PayPal button

Q'S ABOUT Z-DRUGS TAKEN FOR INSOMNIA - Tachycardia, etc.

[Rh...]

Hello. I would love to hear from people who have taken z-drugs solely or primarily for insomnia.

After getting off of benzos, my sleep deteriorated to such a degree that I could barely function (I'm a teacher, so not functioning is not an option), so... I tried zopiclone thinking that at least there might be less withdrawal when I stopped. Silly me. Zopiclone is wayyy more difficult to get off. For me, stopping the benzo I was on was a snap, with almost no withdrawal. Why am I so affected by the z-drug, after only a month of use?

Anyway, I'd like to hear from other insomniacs who suffer or suffered tachychardia (rapid or pounding heartbeat) as a primary withdrawal symptom. This happens almost as soon as I go to bed if I don't take the Z. Sleep is NOT possible with this symptom.

Thank you.

PS What are the alternatives for using a long-acting substitute in a taper, the way someone doing a benzo taper can use diazepam? Has anyone used diazepam in this way to get off a z-drug? (I kind of assume it wouldn't work.) Since eszopiclone has a longer half-life, do people use that for a substitution taper?

Hi Rhubarbpie, z-drugs affect GABA in much the same way as a benzo. So basically you have re-activated your receptors with the zopiclone. As you have found, z-drugs are almost impossible to taper, as below a certain dose, you will find it very hard to get to sleep. So then what do you do? If you are going to suffer from insomnia, might as well jump.