Important Survey - Please Participate ×

Long-acting benzo to taper off short-acting benzo

[bl...]

Hi, I was told recently that it's almost impossible to taper off Ativan because it's a short acting benzo and to ask my doctor to switch me to a long-acting benzo like Valium. I've been using Ativan for 5 years for sleep so I'm wondering if this would work or create another dependency? I've tried Seroquel for tapering after being told I couldn't become dependent on it but I did and it took me two months to get off of it.

Have some of you used Valium to taper off Ativan or another short-acting benzo and did it work? Thanks! 

[pi...]

Hello @[bl...]

Many people are able to do a direct taper from Ativan. Yes, it is short acting, that was my first benzo. I was put on it for a supposed middle ear issue. I did feel a lot of inter dose symptoms while on it. After a long a convoluted journey I did end up on Valium for my taper, it did work for me. 

If you choose to cross over you are not necessary creating a new dependency. The crossover should be done gradually to allow the body to adjust and then a slow taper can be implemented.

Seroquel is not a good choice for tapering benzos. It’s an entire different type of drug. 

I would suggest you start a thread on the Taper Strategy forum. Members can share their direct taper and crossover experience with you. This is doable and we’ll be happy to guide and help you.

• Like 1

[or...]

@[bl...] I crossed over to Valium from Ativan as the interdose wds were making me very agitated and anxious. No way could I have tapered it successfully. I followed Professor Ashton's crossover protocol and her withdrawal schedule for tapering valium. It worked out quite quite well. The Ashton Manual is here:

https://www.benzoinfo.com/ashtonmanual/

Look for Schedule 2.

This might be good info for you. It was  for me.

• Love 1

[bl...]