Taper Help - Assisting Husband on Valium Taper

[Ro...]

I've been supporting my husband through his taper since late 2022.  It's been a very long and unexpected journey as he was only prescribed Klonopin for a 2 week period to address unexpected anhedonia brought on by 3 weeks of sleep deprivation after a terrible recovery from an outpatient procedure.  Following those 2 weeks his primary care doctor had him taper off over the following 4 weeks and life has not been the same since.  A week after his last dose he started having extreme physical symptoms of a panic attack but with no mental anxiety.  That began the journey finding the Ashton Manual and working the taper. 

He tapered steadily from February 2023 through September 2023 and had to hold for 6 months to allow his system to settle and to deal with changing jobs and some family drama (definitely not symptom free but we feel confident we know what his "base line" is on the benzo).  He just stepped down on March 5, 2024 to 16mg and has been holding there since as the withdrawal symptoms weren't great.  He seemed okay about a week in, but then there was some family drama with his brother which caused a lot of anxiety/frustration and the symptoms got worse.  His biggest struggle is overstimulation (comes with a very persistent jaw tremor), low energy/easily fatigued and added anxiety (especially when feeling like this will never be over).    

I updated the profile page with his history, other medications, taper symptoms, and I also attached his taper schedule through this recent reduction. 

We are looking for help with ideas/suggestions for how to best come at this taper in a way that keeps the symptoms minimized for the smoothest ride.  We've started looking at micro tapers, or something called the brass monkey method.  It can be so overwhelming.   

Edited by [Ro...]

[Fa...]