Important Survey - Please Participate ×

Extreme dizziness and gut problems during Diazepam taper - how to cope?

[Zi...]

Hello budies,

I am down on 0,72mg of Diazepam for 5 weeks now. My last cut was pretty big (from 3 doses a day I cut to two doses because I forgot to take midday dose for a few days… so the cut was by 0,36mg or 1/3 of my daily dose - from 1,1mg to 0,72mg)

I have been tapering from 2,5 mg since January 2023.

I have finished another two tapers (AP May 21, AD September 22).

Pretty experienced in withdrawing because being in the process since May 2020!

My questions are about two symptoms I have now in huge severity and didn ´t have before… so don ´t know how to cope and whether they will ease soon 🙏

Dizziness- days and nights for long weeks now… I can ´t drive, walk, work on pc, even standing is simetimes problematic. What happened in my brain that I feel so severely dizzy for weeks now? How can I help myself? I found out that after an hour doing something I need an hour to rest (quietly in dark room with no eye movement) BUT I don ´t see any progress in longer terms. Days are having similar pattern.

Gut problems (digestion) - I feel pains and noises and uncomfortable feeling all days long in my gut and stomach. I eat really clean, am on low histamine diet because I developed HIT due to antidepressants I was on (Amitrityline). I have quite big appetite (thankfully… because I was very tinny and malnutriented). But the digestion is hurting, I have to spend many hours daily in bed because when I stand up my pains in gut area are bigger. Do you have any tips how to cope? Did you experience the same discomfort for weeks and did it go away?

I have been on the dose 0,72mg Diazepam for another weeks / months unless I feel I can continue. I ak on 3,33mg Zolpidem as well - holding the dose.

Thank you all for your comments. Katerina

Hello Katerina :hug:  Welcome to the forum.