Important Survey - Please Participate ×

Arms & Legs Tingling - When to Cut Again

[ia...]

I've been tapering off of Diazepam for a few months. I'm on a 'low' dose (less than 1 mg daily) however, I've been holding at this dose for quite some time, and without fail every other day, I wake up and usually one of my limbs is COMPLETELY asleep. It is SCARY waking up without feeling a limb. My feet and hands regularly start to become numb during waking hours when sitting at my desk.

I've heard some horror stories of those who woke up and couldn't feel half their body. Are there ANY suppliments to help with this? Or any thoughts/feedback around how to work through this as I continue my taper? This appears to be my worst symptom. (other symtpoms include; intrusive thoughts, general anxiety, getting REALLY tired around hour 24 since my last dose etc.)

If I continue to get numbness and tingling... do I just ignore it, or proceed with taper? Thoughts? Thanks in advance for your time and energy, -F

Hi All,

Thank you for taking the time to reply. I am stil on the Alprazolam. My plan is to taper slowly off the Diazepam FIRST, then make my way off the Alprazolam. I'm holding at .124 with the alprazolam. Actually my cuts with the Alprazolam are going better than the Diazepam.

I know this may seem odd, because many people transition TO Diazepam to get off their other Benzos, but Diazepam has been harder for me. "How do you know it's the diazepam giving you the symptoms?"< great question. Because I've tapered off Alprazolam once before and NEVER had tingling in extremeties/hurt scalp, losing hair etc. From the very first time I tried 'quitting' the Diazepam, it's given me these symptoms.

I'm REALLY close with the Diazepam and, transparently I do not have as much of the Diazepam as I do Alprazolam. I'm not in a position to ask my physician for more medication (it's a long story - happy to answer questions if relevant).

Appreciate your time and feedback! -F