Important Survey - Please Participate ×

Valium liquid Taper now

[co...]

My symptoms caught up to me this week, I just saw my Psychiatrist yesterday- a 2.5 hour drive each way, but worth it.  There are NO doctors in my area that understand this drug.

My current evening dose is 3mg Valium in pill form.  I am holding here until June 26th, then reducing by 10% every month via liquid Valium from the pharmacy.  5mg/5ml solution, 500ml.  He said the next cut would be 2.73mg- but don't quote me on that!

I am new to this and Horrible at Math!!  I need some help figuring out a tapering schedule for the evening Valium dose at 10% every month via the liquid above from the pharmacy. 

Thank you in advance!  I don't know what I would do without this group!  you are all amazing people! 

I'm terrible at math and taper issues but I'm sure we can find you some help.  Is the liquid Valium from the manufacturer or is the pharmacy compounding it for you?

I've seen members take a bit of time getting used to the liquid form, many have noted it either feels like an increase or a reduction so I'd advise holding your current dose for a bit when you make the switch.

Its from the manufacture- sorry about that!  I know nothing about the liquid, but am researching it.  Thanks for that advice about holding the current dose when making the switch.  I will do that for sure!

Since I will be switching to the Liquid Valium (from the manufacture) for the reminder of my Valium Taper, I just want to make sure these calculations are correct.

I will be tapering by 10% every month or 2 to 3 weeks depending on symptoms. 

6/26- 2.7 Liquid

7/24- 2.4 Liquid

2.1mg

1.8mg

1.6mg

1.4mg

1.2mg

1mg

Then I will switch to .5mg Xanax XR (morning) and 10mg Valium evening and drop by 1mg until I get to 5mg, then decrease by 10% from there using the liquid.  Then deal with the .5mg Xanax I have left over, crossing directly over to 10mg Valium and taper yet once again! 

Does this look correct?