Please Check, and if Necessary, Update Your BB Account Email Address as a Matter of Urgency ×
A Request for Help from Members BIC (Benzodiazepine Information Coalition) ×
  • Please Donate

For nearly 20 years, BenzoBuddies has assisted thousands of people through benzodiazepine withdrawal. Help us reach and support more people in need. More about donations here.

Donate with PayPal button

How long can I use pain killer for tooth abscess

[Vm...]

hey guys,

I have a tooth abscess and will most likely have to get the tooth pulled. I know dentists prescribe Tylenol 3's. If I can, I will avoid taking it all together but if the pain gets bad enough, how many consecutive days can I take it? I also take klonopin. Would there be any interactions with the combined medications: Klonopin, Tylenol 3 (oxycodone), novocane injection and augmentin (the antibiotic I am going to ask for).

hey guys,

I have a tooth abscess and will most likely have to get the tooth pulled. I know dentists prescribe Tylenol 3's. If I can, I will avoid taking it all together but if the pain gets bad enough, how many consecutive days can I take it? I also take klonopin. Would there be any interactions with the combined medications: Klonopin, Tylenol 3 (oxycodone), novocane injection and augmentin (the antibiotic I am going to ask for).

Hello Vmalone,

I've had a few surgeries during my entire benzo saga, both while I was taking a benzo and during the taper and recovery process.  I don't think there is any concrete time limit on taking an opioid after a medical procedure.  I took oxycodone after all my surgeries in very small doses on just a few occasions. Actually, when I had surgery for dental implants I didn't take any pain meds at all, ice seemed to be the most helpful.  In other words, make yourself comfortable after the procedure and honestly you shouldn't need pain meds for very long.