Please Check, and if Necessary, Update Your BB Account Email Address as a Matter of Urgency ×
A Request for Help from Members BIC (Benzodiazepine Information Coalition) ×
  • Please Donate

For nearly 20 years, BenzoBuddies has assisted thousands of people through benzodiazepine withdrawal. Help us reach and support more people in need. More about donations here.

Donate with PayPal button

Paxil Withdrawal

[lu...]

Hello bb,

I am going through paxil withdrawel hell right now. I was taking 10mg of paxil now i am down

to 7.5 mg. I have terrible anxiety and shakiness with huge tremors. Ohh this is so awful! I never

wish this on anyone this is so terrible i feel so shaky right now its so hard for me to type this post

on here. I can barely function right now i feel like i need to go to the ER because i feel so bad.

Can someone please help me figure this out please!

I feel so hopeless :'( Kim

[91...]

Hi Kim,

As a fellow Paxil veteran, I totally understand what you are going through, but the good news is that the terrible symptoms don't last as long as the ones from getting off benzos.

One thing that I would have done differently is that I would've finished the benzo taper before attempting to reduce Paxil. Once I stopped Paxil I lost its sedative value immediately and had severe insomnia for the duration of the Ativan taper.

Can you hold off and taper Paxil later on? I'm sure other BBs will chime in on this, but it often seems to work better to stop one drug at a time - just my two cents.

Whatever you decide, I hope you start feeling better soon!

Leslie  :smitten:

Hi leslieAsh

I am totally off of Ativan since May of this year so thats why I wanted to come

off of paxil now. I am trying to taper but its really hard on me right now. I have

almost all the classic signs of withdrawel symptoms it is so awful its hard

to describe what it's like. I may ask my GP to use a liquid taper rather than