Please Check, and if Necessary, Update Your BB Account Email Address as a Matter of Urgency ×
A Request for Help from Members BIC (Benzodiazepine Information Coalition) ×
  • Please Donate

For nearly 20 years, BenzoBuddies has assisted thousands of people through benzodiazepine withdrawal. Help us reach and support more people in need. More about donations here.

Donate with PayPal button

Getting ready to crossover from Ativan to Valium:( Scared

[Mi...]

Hi all- I'm a newbie. I've been on Ativan for almost 6 months. My psyc wants to cross me over using Valium and I'm terrified. His plan right now is week 1- Ativan 3x a day and spaced out every 5 hrs. Then add the Valium (10mgs) before bed. Week 2- Valium at 630am, Ativan .5 at 430pm, then Valium before bed. That's all I I have so far. Any advice? Actually I've been interviewing psych's and it's amazing how they're all different in their methods. One psych told me because I haven't been on that long, she felt the Valium isn't needed. I take .5 every 5 hours. Any advice would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks!

Michelle

Hi, Michelle K.

No need to be scared.  :therethere:  If you do cross over to Valium, you will be following a time-tested method for getting off benzos.  Are you familiar with Prof. Heather Ashton?  She wrote the "benzo bible" we refer to here.  You can see some sample crossover shedules in Chapter 2 of her manual:

http://www.benzo.org.uk/manual/bzsched.htm

I'm a little confused about how much Ativan you are taking. Taking .5mg every 5 hours would be about 2.5mg/day but you also said you were spacing it out 3x/day which would be just 1.5mg. Could you please clarify?