Please Check, and if Necessary, Update Your BB Account Email Address as a Matter of Urgency ×
A Request for Help from Members BIC (Benzodiazepine Information Coalition) ×
  • Please Donate

For nearly 20 years, BenzoBuddies has assisted thousands of people through benzodiazepine withdrawal. Help us reach and support more people in need. More about donations here.

Donate with PayPal button

Slow taper VS C/T

[No...]

Hi, I am Kasper from Denmark, currently on a slow taper from a 6 year, daily use of Rivotril (Clonazapam). My daily dose has increased 1.5 mg, but I now realize that I have had tolerance withdrawal symptoms for at least 3 years, not knowing that my symptoms was due to the medicine. Tomorrow I have been tapering for 6 months, and I am still looking at about 3 - 4 months before benzo-free. I am now at 0.260 mg, going down 0.005 every second day (liquid form). It is a home made remedy cutting down so often, as I have reacted quite strong to each 10 or 15% reduction. From 0.35 mg to 0.30, I cramped a lot, just being able to lie on my sofa counting the minutes, sometimes seconds. I have added a daily dose of 300 mg Lyrica (Pregabalin), as I lost weight rapidly, now being able to eat enough to stay at my current weight. 

I have had no help from my doctor, who wanted me to do a quick taper or stay at the medicine, he does not care. At least I was lucky realizing the problems with benzo addiction before anyone tried to force me on a quick taper. As said I have had tolerance symptoms for several years, so the symptoms of tapering are not strange to me, just 10 times worse than before I started my withdrawal.