A Request for Help from Members BIC (Benzodiazepine Information Coalition) ×

Candesartan to manage long term withdrawal effects

[JG...]

[JG...]

Long time since I have been on here or posted, but I thought this might be helpful. 

So, the good news for me is that 3.5 years on since having seizures from cold-turkeying off a crazy high dose of diazepam, that nearly killed me and led to 6 weeks in hospital with tubes coming in and out of me, I'm holding down a job, managing the symptoms (fatigue, dizziness, cogfog, tinnitus), and generally living my best life. But recently, the neurologist has put me on Candesartan to help address any ongoing issues. Specifically, to protect against "excitotoxicity". Caveat: I am not a clincial professional, so I may be wrong, but from what I understand, excitotoxicity is caused by excessive stimulation of neurons by neurotransmitters such as glutamate, can lead to neuronal injury and death. I think this maybe what sometimes happens when you cold turkey off a crazy high dose. It's not that dissimilar to what happens if you have a stroke or traumatic brain injury. So there is some research that suggests that Candesartan may help protect against excitotoxicity. Also, there are some studies suggest that candesartan may promote neurogenesis (the growth of new neurons) and synaptic plasticity, which are critical for learning, memory, and recovery from brain injuries. And thirdly, candesartan can improve cerebral blood flow by reducing blood pressure and enhancing blood vessel function. This improved blood flow can help protect brain tissue from ischemic damage and support overall brain health.