I think I have a Benzo dependency.

[Be...]

Hello, I’ve been on benzos for about 24 years. Never was told it could be problematic over the long term. They just kept prescribing it and I just kept taking it. The reasons why I was put on them has come back, with worsening as well as new symptoms such as insomnia, intrusive thoughts, aggression, memory problems, poor concentration, anxiety, depression, poor coordination, tremors, restlessness, etc. I guess I woke up and found it had to do with the Benzos. At first it was Xanax 0.5mg 3x daily, then it was changed to Clonazepam 0.5 mg 3x daily. I’m new to this and am scared. I Will talk to my psychiatrist about this on my next appointment. Meanwhile, any advice to someone who just realized this would be appreciated. 

Edited by [Be...]

[je...]

Hi @[Be...]

Welcome to BenzoBuddies!

I am so sorry to hear you're experiencing these symptoms. It was probably a big shock when you discovered it was related to benzo's and I can understand you are scared. First up I just want to clarify a common misperception. There is a difference between being addicted and being dependend on benzo's. If someone uses benzo's as prescribed for a certain period of time, their body undergoes neuro adaptive changes, causing them to become physically dependent on the drug to function normally. This is different to addiction. Here is an article that explains it a bit more if you're interested.

It sounds like you might be experiencing tolerance. This means the drug is not effective at its current dose anymore and in order for it to work, you need more of it to treat the symptoms. However, if you increase the dose, you will likely become tolerant to the higher dose as well. Are you interested in tapering off the Clonazepam?

We are here to support you as we all know and understand what you are going through. You are not alone. 

• Like 2

[Be...]