Important Survey - Please Participate ×
Dr. David Healy - Raising Awareness of Inappropriate or Harmful Deprescribing Practices ×

Benzo Withdrawal and Psychedelics

[ab...]

*THIS IS MY STORY AND NOT A RECOMMENDATION*

Hi Everyone, 

I am 17 months benzo-free and I am doing a lot better in many ways. Since my 3 month taper that began in February of 2022 (after 17 years of xanax and klonopin prescriptions (ending with 4mg of klon per day!!!)) and ended April 2022, then experiencing the intensity of the first 6 months and the oddity of the last year after that, I can only liken benzo recovery to a bad, low-dose, psychedelic trip (particularly LSD). I have a lot of experience with psychedelics in my life. From 1989 to 2005 I was an active psychonaut (psychedelic tripper who likes to explore other states consciousness). Not so ironically, I was put on benzos in 2005 and my psychedelic life took pause until 2018.  I began to take low to micro doses of psilocybin for a year to try and treat depression with no success. In 2022, at the same time I began to taper off benzos, I began doing high dose trips to treat my depression. In early April I had two trips within a week which took me out of my depression and gave me the mental tools I needed to get off benzos and all psych meds FOREVER. 

The first week of May, 2022, I had my first 5 days with no benzos. It was torturous and hellish. I landed in ER with a panic attack that felt like I was under some kind of alien attack! It was other-worldly. Of course they tried to give me benzos in the ER but with the help of my wife, we were able to refuse all benzos. After 7 hours of writhing in the ER, the doctor decided to try one last thing: I.V. Ketamine.