Please Check, and if Necessary, Update Your BB Account Email Address as a Matter of Urgency ×
A Request for Help from Members BIC (Benzodiazepine Information Coalition) ×
  • Please Donate

For nearly 20 years, BenzoBuddies has assisted thousands of people through benzodiazepine withdrawal. Help us reach and support more people in need. More about donations here.

Donate with PayPal button

Hi my name is Nicolette

[Ni...]

Hi everyone,

This is my first time here. I was trying to quit my Xanax by myself and through doctors till I started researching it on the net. Help! I'm on .25mg 4 x's a day and went to a new doctor a week ago. He gave Tredral to add to by Xanax and that made me feel sicker. I want to crossover to Valium or Klonopin. I'm in the US. I have another appointment next week. I printed the Ashton Manual. How do I approach the doctor?

Hello Nicolette, Welcome to BenzoBuddies!

I'm glad you started doing the research, when I quit I had no idea what I was doing to myself.  It's difficult to get Dr's in the US to prescribe Valium, but you may find one who will.  I'd certainly ask before I shelled out the office visit payment if he will.  You might be able to get someone to prescribe Klonopin, it has a much longer half life than Xanax. 

You've probably done all you can do to prepare for your Dr visit, but don't be surprised if he doesn't put much credence in Professor Ashtons work, as it is largely antedotal, but it's the best we've got.

Please ask questions, we're here to help.

Pam

Thanks Pam, actually I went on Xanax (alprazolam) in 2000 at the suggestion of my GP. I didn't know I was addicted until I started drinking regularly in 2007. Things got messy and I wanted to taper off. His formula was a 5 day taper off of both. I went to the ER (to different docs) with horrendous withdrawal. I ended up staying for 3 days.