Please Check, and if Necessary, Update Your BB Account Email Address as a Matter of Urgency ×
A Request for Help from Members BIC (Benzodiazepine Information Coalition) ×
  • Please Donate

For nearly 20 years, BenzoBuddies has assisted thousands of people through benzodiazepine withdrawal. Help us reach and support more people in need. More about donations here.

Donate with PayPal button

what do you do for diarrhea

I have had really bad diarrhea lately, which I hardly ever have, maybe due to tolerance wd as I haven't started to taper yet.  Does anyone have any advice?  Is it ok to take immodium; I am afraid to leave the house.

Thanks,

Shiloh

I have Crohns Disease and have to take meds for it.  My dr prescribes me Imodium, Generic name is Loperamide.  I take them everyday, even if I wasn't on Benzos or tapering.  I am not a doctor, of course, but it works for me.

Be sure to keep hydrated by drinking lots of water, excessive diarrhea can cause dehydration pretty quickly.

I used it when my GI was bad... but I cut the pill in half.  In a way I felt my body was expelling the toxins, so I didnt want to slow that down too much... I only used it when it was truly intolerable.

Shiloh, I located these post for you. Imodium(loperamide) yes or no

« on: June 11, 2009, 01:53:27 AM » 

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

To control diarrhea from w/d. I know this is an opioid and wonder if it could make other w/d symptoms worse such as tinnitus mouth pain etc.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

last 3 years valium for bladder problem  2.5-5mg daily not taken every day

this year ativan .5 mg for stomach problem 2 months not taken every day a few days 1mg

last benzo taken 3/06 09  c/t

hawkeye

Buddie

More festivals...more picnics

Re: Imodium(loperamide) yes or no

« Reply #1 on: June 11, 2009, 02:24:30 AM » 

Hi,

I would try other things first: