Please Check, and if Necessary, Update Your BB Account Email Address as a Matter of Urgency ×
A Request for Help from Members BIC (Benzodiazepine Information Coalition) ×
  • Please Donate

For nearly 20 years, BenzoBuddies has assisted thousands of people through benzodiazepine withdrawal. Help us reach and support more people in need. More about donations here.

Donate with PayPal button

[...]

hi all i am a newbie to this forum and have been taking xanax prescribed by a physician. i have been taking 5mg per day for 18 years. one 1mg tab 5xper day. i have seldom gone above the prescribed dosage in all that time. i have tried tapering without medical help a few times with varying degrees of success. always to return and gradually get back to 5mg per day. tomorrow i am going to a hospital for inpatient detox and i am very scared. this program is basically cold turkey with anti-convulsives and low dose trazedone (which i should mention i also take. dosage of 450mg at bedtime and i dont know what the plan will be for that). id appreciate any insight from members who have gone this route so i can get a handle on what to expect during and after my research on the internet has been nightmarish and even the social worker who screened me for the program called the detox process, "gruesome" thanks so much

Hi mbh, Welcome to BenzoBuddies!

We have many members who have done what you're planning to do, and if there were time before you went in tomorrow, I'm sure all of them would say, DON'T DO IT!  A cold turkey will set you up for some pretty harsh symptoms for many, many months when you're released.  Is there anyway you could back out and use us to do this?  We could save you thousands of dollars, a lot of pain and support you through the entire process.