Please Check, and if Necessary, Update Your BB Account Email Address as a Matter of Urgency ×
A Request for Help from Members BIC (Benzodiazepine Information Coalition) ×
  • Please Donate

For nearly 20 years, BenzoBuddies has assisted thousands of people through benzodiazepine withdrawal. Help us reach and support more people in need. More about donations here.

Donate with PayPal button

Balancing an Internship with Tapering....

I've been on Valium for 6 months. I took 3 mg a day, 3x/ day all that time. The last three days I've been taking 2.5 mg. The first 2 days were fine, but now I have a little bit of anxiety and a headache.

My problem is that I am a graduate student and am interning somewhere. The supervisor thinks I have done a fantastic job. She gave me an excellent evaluation to give in to my professor. However, I boxed myself into a corner by telling her that I would stay on until early August. What I want to do is reduce at a rate of 0.5/week...but I think that might have too many side effects and I would not be able to do the internship. I can probably get by at 0.5/every 2 weeks......but I don't know if once I reach a certain level, the side effects will be too severe anyway.

What should I do? I would take the summer off, and return in the Fall, but I have to work on my thesis (150 pages of original research), and I doubt I'll have time to give even one day a week there. What do you all think I should do?

A) Go with the slow taper and intern until the symptoms become too severe

B) Go with a faster taper and make up an excuse about why I had to leave early

C) Go with a faster taper and promise to return for 1 day/wk in the Fall since the trouble of tapering is tougher than the trouble of thesising (LOL)

Thanks so much,

Gofish