Please Check, and if Necessary, Update Your BB Account Email Address as a Matter of Urgency ×
A Request for Help from Members BIC (Benzodiazepine Information Coalition) ×
  • Please Donate

For nearly 20 years, BenzoBuddies has assisted thousands of people through benzodiazepine withdrawal. Help us reach and support more people in need. More about donations here.

Donate with PayPal button

Updosed, will be back in medical treatment next week

[sp...]

So, I've been tapering directly off phenazepam for several months. I thought I was kinda-stable at 1.0mg/day (10mg diaz equivilent), though I was experiencing unusually annoying tinnitus at that level. I slashed down, finally hitting 0.35mg a little over a week ago, was in hell, and tried to hold there.

Tinnitus was a constant, constant nagging worry. I've had the condition on and off for 10 years but rarely think about it; the w/d seems to make the volume a lot louder, a lot more bilateral (usually it's a left-ear problem), and also makes me fixate on it to the exclusion of all else.

So, in anxiety hell for the past couple weeks, I made an appointment with a psychiatrist tomorrow and have updosed back to ~1mg/day for the moment to try to be "kinda stable" again before attempting a valium c/o and taper. I was able to get off a 4 year Klonopin habit in ~2006 with a valium c/o and long taper (wish to the world I had stayed off! but that's water under the bridge).

After the updose, the tinnitus is still apparant, but it's almost completely unilateral, and while it's somewhat distracted I'm not as fixed on it, and I'm also not a sweaty anxious mess on the floor crying begging for anything to make me feel better.