Please Check, and if Necessary, Update Your BB Account Email Address as a Matter of Urgency ×
A Request for Help from Members BIC (Benzodiazepine Information Coalition) ×
  • Please Donate

For nearly 20 years, BenzoBuddies has assisted thousands of people through benzodiazepine withdrawal. Help us reach and support more people in need. More about donations here.

Donate with PayPal button

Is CONSTANT MENTAL EXHAUSTION/FATIGUE a withdrawal symptom????

[he...]

I have been doing a water taper from Temazepam 30mg since October 2,2019. I have been going at what I consider a slow pace (if I stay on pace, I will be off in 5-6 months from now). I have experienced the plethora of all the common benzo withdrawal symptoms. But the one that is the most disturbing and completely debilitating for me is the mental fatigue. I have a 10 year history of Chronic Fatigue Syndrome (possibly related to benzo use). But when I started tapering, the already existing mental fatigue quickly shifted to constant mental exhaustion. That started as early as the 1st month of tapering (October) and has continued. Because it is so debilitating and scary, I often find myself weeping inconsolably (which, of course is counterproductive, yet I need an outlet)  :'(

I have tried holding several times during my taper until some of the mental fatigue lifted. But for the past 2 months it is constant and does not seems to be alleviated by holding my dose.

Is mental exhaustion a common symptom that any of you have experienced? I am curious to know if anyone has a history of ME/CFS as well?

If I can work the strength up to go outside for a bike ride, it sometimes helps to alleviate the fatigue (possibly blood circulation to the brain?); but it is really a challenge to get up and get going.

I REALLY APPRECIATE any input! :) :) :) :) :) :) :) :)