Please Check, and if Necessary, Update Your BB Account Email Address as a Matter of Urgency ×
A Request for Help from Members BIC (Benzodiazepine Information Coalition) ×
  • Please Donate

For nearly 20 years, BenzoBuddies has assisted thousands of people through benzodiazepine withdrawal. Help us reach and support more people in need. More about donations here.

Donate with PayPal button

so close but so far

[An...]

Hello, all my name is A. I am new to benzo buddies. I had posted earlier today but decided to make some edits.

My story:

I was first prescribed clonazepam to help with insomnia created by grad school stress back in 2014. I did not know what I was getting into. I initially started at 0.5mg and slowly increased to about 2.5 mg in 2017. At first, benzos seemed like a blessing that I could shut my brain off and sleep at night and didn't notice any side effects at first.  Unfortunately, this changed over time and I began experiencing a lot of cognitive difficulties/side effects and so I tapered on my own.  I had withdrawal symptoms that caused me to quit my first job out of school after a tough year. Fortunately, once I got down to a lower dose and slowed my taper I was able to work in a different area with mostly milder symptoms. I eventually became stable at 0.25mg at that job for around 6 months and was doing fairly well after a couple of years of anguish and so decided to hold at that dose for a break. Thinking back at 0.25 mg my professional life was finally manageable again but I still felt as though I was missing out on life due to my benzo dependence. On benzos I struggle to enjoy things, feel like a shell of myself, and struggle with memory.