Please Check, and if Necessary, Update Your BB Account Email Address as a Matter of Urgency ×
A Request for Help from Members BIC (Benzodiazepine Information Coalition) ×
  • Please Donate

For nearly 20 years, BenzoBuddies has assisted thousands of people through benzodiazepine withdrawal. Help us reach and support more people in need. More about donations here.

Donate with PayPal button

Emotionally numb

[Be...]

I've been sick from the Benzos for over 4 years now, 28 months since being off.  Last year I was also diagnosed with cancer and had it treated, all the time still suffering from Benzo WD. It was unbelievably hard going for 40 cancer treatments while suffering daily from the WD.  Then, just as I thought there was a light at the end of the tunnel, along comes the Corona virus.

I've been working from home for over 2 years because of the Benzos and felt so isolated, but at least I could go to the mall before the virus.  Now I don't go anywhere.

I still suffer every day from the Benzo WD including exhaustion and head pressure.  I still feel like I have lost my cognitive function.  It feels like that part of my brain was surgically removed.  I'm beginning to lose hope in recovery.

I spend most of my time sitting, listening to music and remembering what my former life was like.  My former life now seems like a wonderful dream.

I watch TV about the Corona virus, I am thankful I am able to work and live out of my house, ordering everything online including food.  I have avoided the virus so far.

Perhaps the hardest part is the loneliness.  Having been at home for the past years I have lost a lot of friends.  I am even out of touch with things at work. 

I really just want to cry but I can't.  I don't feel enough emotion.  I really feel like I've become a zombie.  I feel like I'm waiting to wake up but I never do.