Please Check, and if Necessary, Update Your BB Account Email Address as a Matter of Urgency ×
A Request for Help from Members BIC (Benzodiazepine Information Coalition) ×
  • Please Donate

For nearly 20 years, BenzoBuddies has assisted thousands of people through benzodiazepine withdrawal. Help us reach and support more people in need. More about donations here.

Donate with PayPal button

Thinking of jumping off .188mg Xanax per day

[Ta...]

I've been tapering Xanax for about eight months now at %2.5/week. I had many up and downs. I've gotten down to only 25% left, .188mg. There have been times when I've tapered when I've felt bad and I ended up feeling better. There have been times when I've tapered when I've felt good and I ended up feeling worse. There seems to be no rhyme or reason to this and I'm not sure what's withdrawal symptoms and what is just normal life stress. I've been holding for 3 weeks now since my last taper and I really haven't seen any improvement. I really don't think holding is helping any. I'm thinking of just stopping Xanax completely at this point, continuing to taper at a faster rate, or just continuing to taper at my normal rate. My reasons for stopping the Xanax completely at this point is:

-dosing 4 times a day creates a considerable amount of anxiety in itself. I take a dose in the middle of the night. I have to constantly make sure the Xanax is available if I leave the house or anything and I wonder how much added anxiety this creates in my life.

-I believe the Xanax tapering interacts with my Paxil. It seems at times like my Paxil dose has been increased or decreased during this taper and I believe it has to do with my body processing both drugs. One less drug in there may alleviate that.