Please Check, and if Necessary, Update Your BB Account Email Address as a Matter of Urgency ×
A Request for Help from Members BIC (Benzodiazepine Information Coalition) ×
  • Please Donate

For nearly 20 years, BenzoBuddies has assisted thousands of people through benzodiazepine withdrawal. Help us reach and support more people in need. More about donations here.

Donate with PayPal button

Need help with Plan for Dry Cut tapering of Xanax

[Su...]

I am a Newbie to this forum and any and all help is appreciated.

I am currently taking .25 mgs of Xanax 4X a day...at 11:00 AM, 3:00 PM, 7:00 PM and 11:00 PM...for a total of 1mg per day. I had been taking 1.25 mgs. My Doctor made a 25% cut and I went through hell for 3-4 weeks. Still having some intermittent withdrawals as my body adjusts to the now 1 mg per day.

I plan to do the dry cut method. Yes, I have always had some withdrawal symptoms between Xanax doses and manage to tough it out when bad, but I do not want to switch to Valium. Years ago, I tried the generic version, diazepam, once or twice and had immediate terrible migraines. Never took it again and never will. I also find mixing with water/milk difficult for me, thus my choice to dry pill cut

I understand to make a cut of no more than 5 - 10 %. I plan to try a 10% cut...

I need help on how to proceed. I am a bit confused and overwhelmed, but I need to get of this drug that should have never been prescribed for me in this manner.

My plan for my first cut is to taper by taking one half of a .25 mg pill at the 7:00 pm schedule for 14 days...or 3 quarters of a .25 mg pill at 3:00 PM and 7:00 PM....Then my next cut. Hope this is Okay!

As I read these posts I am more confused than ever. I need advice.

A ten percent cut would bring you to  .9 mg a day. The best way to make accurate cuts is to use a scale. Precise dosing is pretty important and because of Xanax's very small pill size it is very difficult to take accurate cuts by simply splitting.