Please Check, and if Necessary, Update Your BB Account Email Address as a Matter of Urgency ×
A Request for Help from Members BIC (Benzodiazepine Information Coalition) ×
  • Please Donate

For nearly 20 years, BenzoBuddies has assisted thousands of people through benzodiazepine withdrawal. Help us reach and support more people in need. More about donations here.

Donate with PayPal button

Did not know benzo was the cause of all this!!!

[jk...]

Hi guys, i'm fairly new to this whole benzo withdrawal scene hopefully you guys  could shed some light into helping me get rid of benzo for good.

To begin, i never thought i was a benzo abuser. My doctor would sometime prescribe me midalozam as sleep aid while i traveled overseas. Sometimes i would also be prescribed estazolam and nimetazepam.

To be clear, i never took any of these benzo more than twice a week. so 10 pills of midazolam would probably last me 1 month. So is the same with estazolam and nimetazepam. I normally take these as sleeping aids when i am travelling.

I have been taking these benzos sparingly, not more than 2 pills a week and would normally have almost 30 days in between a prescription refill. All this in a matter of 7 months.

Symptoms:

I was having a bad chest infection and i have stopped taking benzos for at least 2 weeks. W/d symptoms first hit me in a form of a sleep induced panic attack! i woke up with my blood pressure going over 200 and a heart rate well above 120. I was rushed to the ER at that occasion and was told i had panic attack or something to do with my oxygen level (since i do have asthma and i was coughing at that time).

After that incident, every time i am about to fall asleep, my heart starts to pound and i wake up in a semi conscious state. Sometimes, this semi conscious sleep awake state last the whole day (could be depersonalization? i dont know).