Please Check, and if Necessary, Update Your BB Account Email Address as a Matter of Urgency ×
A Request for Help from Members BIC (Benzodiazepine Information Coalition) ×
  • Please Donate

For nearly 20 years, BenzoBuddies has assisted thousands of people through benzodiazepine withdrawal. Help us reach and support more people in need. More about donations here.

Donate with PayPal button

My story - Any insights, help, anything you can offer would be a blessing.

[co...]

I'm new to the forum and this is my first post so please bare with me.

I'm not sure what I'm going through or why. But here is my story and maybe someone can shed some light on this nightmare. I started taking Ativan about 3 years ago; only in very small amounts (.25mg - .50) when needed (like once a month). Mostly for work and interview related needs (I was a top sales manager for a large company and I've been doing that kind of work for about 15 years). In my second year of Benzo related use, I started to take it more often, then I was taking it in the morning to go to work, then I was taking it during work. Then I had a nervous breakdown, and took 3 months off. Mirtazapine and Abilify got me back to work for two months, then I convinced myself that I no longer wanted to work there again because of the stress and anxiety I was experiencing. I took more time off and they eventually gave me a severance. Safe to say I'm not working anymore. In fact, I haven't worked in 1.5 yrs. When I had to leave my job, everything spiralled downwards; fast. I saw several psychiatrists who tried me on all sorts of medications. I even did ECT (8 sessions) which seemed to help but only lasted about 2-3 weeks. Then I was back on the medi-go-round. I was only able to tolerate 2 (out of the 10-12 different AD's I tried) for longer than 8 weeks (Zoloft & Mirtazapine). But they didn't really do anything except bring me terrible side effects which I believe made me worse than I was. And I was never able to get up to the