Please Check, and if Necessary, Update Your BB Account Email Address as a Matter of Urgency ×
A Request for Help from Members BIC (Benzodiazepine Information Coalition) ×
  • Please Donate

For nearly 20 years, BenzoBuddies has assisted thousands of people through benzodiazepine withdrawal. Help us reach and support more people in need. More about donations here.

Donate with PayPal button

Klonopin withdrawal. Advice for going back up? Please.

[pa...]

Hello. I'm new. I've been on Klonopon for over 5 years. First for GAD and then for PTSD after a horrific car accident. I was on 4mg daily. I would take 2 2mg tablets at night because that's when I flashback the most. I started to taper without knowing what I was doing several months ago. I was down to 1.5mg. On Monday, I dropped to 1mg. And I am horribly sick. I need to function at a high level as I am a nurse practitioner, assist in surgeries, deliver babies, etc. After reading here, I know that my cuts were way too large. I just don't know what to do about it now. Do I go back up to 1.5mg and taper more slowly?  Do I rescue myself with 2mg and start back down?  I'm so lost and I have to work.

I'm on a Klonopin taper from 3 mgs daily and know your struggle. From my experience I'd say only go back up if your at a point where your just not able to survive. As far as your current taper, maybe try slowing down or start a micro taper (you can find instructions on here) which is a slower gradual cut. I've come close to quitting my job during this but seem to find a hint of relief to keep me going, somehow the whole time. Hope you feel better and just remember it's not a race to get off, listen to your body and work off that.

I think you could feel a lot better going back to 1.5 mg, not all the way to 2 mg. You have already come a long way from 4 mg, and with a more gradual taper it could be a lot better.

Take care,

JKS