Please Check, and if Necessary, Update Your BB Account Email Address as a Matter of Urgency ×
A Request for Help from Members BIC (Benzodiazepine Information Coalition) ×
  • Please Donate

For nearly 20 years, BenzoBuddies has assisted thousands of people through benzodiazepine withdrawal. Help us reach and support more people in need. More about donations here.

Donate with PayPal button

8 months out, first post

[Va...]

Reposting original, long version:

I c/t in January. I was prescribed klonopin for insomnia in 2004. I took 1 mg at bedtime, never craved it, never thought it caused a problem.

In 2004, I was a copy editor/ page designer at a newspaper, and my odd schedule of 3 pm to midnight finally caught up with me. I started struggling with insomnia. I made various sleep hygiene improvements but after several months the lack of sleep started hurting my work life. My doctor, whom I really liked and trusted, prescribed Ambien, which worked well for a few weeks and then stopped working. She then prescribed klonopin, saying the "one risk" was "addicition," but it didn't happen to everyone.

It put me to sleep, and I took 1 mg every night. I never, ever thought it caused any problem whatsoever. My wife, who was always aware of my mental state, also never suspected klonopin. As an ex-smoker, I knew what addiction felt like, and I had no love for, no craving for, and no fear of klonopin. It was a pill I took to make sure I slept.

In 2008 I left the newspaper job after becoming exhausted by a new and unwelcome companion - anxiety. I started working for myself in a much more relaxed environment. But soon the anxiety crept in to the new job, and the rest of my life, as well.