Important Survey - Please Participate ×
Dr. David Healy - Raising Awareness of Inappropriate or Harmful Deprescribing Practices ×

Intro - clonazepam and sertraline (Zoloft)

[ma...]

Greetings.

I am a first year graduate student.  I developed stress and anxiety around the end of the previous quarter due to the heavy work load and adjustment to living alone in a new city.  I basically melted down from the anxiety and had to take incompletes and finish my exams late.

I called my therapist/psychiatrist complaining about "morning dread".  Basically I was waking up an hour before my alarm went off feeling a sense of dread (It was a tight chest, pit in the stomach feeling).  This was similar to the feeling you might have after you wake up from a disturbing nightmare, only I had no recollection of dreaming before waking.  This feeling was making it difficult to get up and get out of the house in the morning.  This was back in early March.

I have been on 50 mg sertraline (Zoloft) for several years due to previous depression.  My doctor had me up the Zoloft to 100 mg and at the same time prescribed Xanax to take in the morning for anxiety.  I only took the Xanax for 3 days because it made me too sleepy to concentrate in class.  He then gave me clonazepam.  I started taking 1.0 mg at night hoping this would suppress the morning anxiety.  Taking the 1.0 mg at night didn't do anything for the morning anxiety, so I began taking 1.0 mg in the morning as well.  Taking 1.0 mg in the morning was making me feel a little drunk (wobbly legs), so I cut back the morning dose to 0.5 mg.