Important Survey - Please Participate ×
A Request for Help from Members BIC (Benzodiazepine Information Coalition) ×

Experience with Buspirone while tapering

[ro...]

Hi all,

Just wanted to check if anyone got experience with Buspirone while tapering down. The worst symptom for me is anxiety and I red that this medication helps with this as it is non benzo based and doesn't create addiction or any withdrawal after stop taking.

Any thoughts would be appreciated.

[Co...]

Hello @[ro...]. Welcome to BenzoBuddies.

I have no personal experience with buspirone, but other members do. I expect they will be better able to advise you.

Have you tried using the search system?

Main menu => Discover => Search

Be sure to also search using brand names for buspirone (Buspar and Namanspin).

[Cr...]

Hi Roman, welcome to Benzo Buddies!

Buspar is often used as an adjunct with other anxiety/depression meds. It is typically taken twice a day. Here are several user reviews and ratings for this drug in regards to anxiety efficacy.

https://www.drugs.com/comments/buspirone/buspar-for-anxiety.html

From what I recall doctors telling me, the effect on anxiety is very mild (hence twice a day) but still noticeable. I doubt it will totally get rid of your anxiety while tapering but it might dull the edges a bit. It has minimal withdrawal symptoms compared to other meds for anxiety, but like other meds it does come with potential side effects.

• Like 1

[Br...]

I don't have an answer for you about whether buspirone would significantly help with anxiety during withdrawal.  My understanding of buspirone's effectiveness is similar to what @[Cr...] says: that is, it has a relatively mild effect in reducing anxiety.  I also have heard that some people don't find it effective at all. In other words, it may or may not be helpful depending on the individual.