A Request for Help from Members BIC (Benzodiazepine Information Coalition) ×

Able to function

[Ch...]

I am planning to taper from 2mg if klonopin since 2008. I am already suffering from tolerance withdrawals. Will I be able to continue to work and support myself once I start the taper. I am alone 56 female working no one to help or even be there for the taper. I have a stressful job health care executive and travel a lot. Can I do this and still earn a living l. I don’t have any savings. 

Hello @[Ch...],

Many people have had to work during the withdrawal and recovery process. While I didn’t ‘need’ to, I wanted to keep teaching. I do have the luxury of working at home and it is mostly part time. However, I felt I lost too much being ill on the drugs, I didn’t want this part of my life to disappear. It was actually good for me not to dwell on withdrawal.

I would suggest you plan a slow and sensible taper. Start a thread on the Taper forum and ask questions. I am not an expert at tapering, mine was rough and disorganized because I didn’t find this forum until I jumped off. Slow and steady is the way to go, there a few plans for you to consider.

One of our admins, @[Pa...] went cold turkey froma significant dose of Clonazepam and did keep working. 

This is doable! 

pianogirl :smitten:

Hi Chantal, I am close to your age and am still working a demanding job during the taper. I also bought a house that I am preparing to move to, and have been traveling. Tapering like this is very doable for me. I find that being busy and keeping myself occupied with interests and responsibilities outside of my own head are saving me from being stuck in my own head. As a result, the sx from w/draw, when they do occur, do not consume me. I'm able to look at them as part of the healing. It's just my receptors and body returning to the state it was in before benzos.