Important Survey - Please Participate ×

Looking for benzo-aware psychiatrist or prescriber in/near Atlanta, GA

[Li...]

Hi I recently moved to Atlanta, and am in search of a benzo-aware prescriber willing to work on a slow taper from Lorazapam. If anyone can offer any guidance, I would be so appreciative.

Hi LionsMane, welcome to the boards.

I'm not from Atlanta (or the state's). So I've no personal experience of this doctor. But he's listed on the "mad in America" website as someone willing to work with people wanting to taper.

https://www.madinamerica.com/provider-directory/?wpbdp_view=search&kw=Atlanta+

Maybe someone else from Atlanta will be able to help with a personal recommendation, but this doctor could be a starting point. Others that have struggled to find a doctor to work with in the past have found a Nurse Practitioner, who generally seem to be a bit more understanding of the situation.

Hope you can get sorted 

Thank you, Having a mare--I really appreciate you finding and sharing this doctor with me (and for the welcome!).

Sadly, it appears Dr. Whitfield passed away in 2021.

I will keep searching, though. I'm curious about finding a NP--are there certain kinds of NP's that are typically better to approach? And would you suggest asking about a willingness for a slow taper before setting the first appointment? I feel wary of sharing too much private info with someone I might not work with, but also don't want to waste anyone's time.

Thanks again for the help!

2 hours ago, [[L...] said:

Thank you, Having a mare--I really appreciate you finding and sharing this doctor with me (and for the welcome!).

Sadly, it appears Dr. Whitfield passed away in 2021.