Please Check, and if Necessary, Update Your BB Account Email Address as a Matter of Urgency ×
New Forum: Celebrating 20 Years of Support - Everyone is Invited! ×
  • Please Donate

Donate with PayPal button

For nearly 20 years, BenzoBuddies has assisted thousands of people through benzodiazepine withdrawal. Help us reach and support more people in need. More about donations here.

Hello I am Jeff

[Je...]

I've been taking small daily amounts of Xanax, then Valium, then Klonopin since around 6/2020 -- the time of George Floyd's death.

I've been trying to switch away from the really dangerous ones (Xanax!) and keep dosage as low as I possibly can (10mg valium, 0.5mg Xanax, 0.25mg Klonopin), but I also am concerned since I have been doing this for a few months now. Just wanted to share stories and get feedback.

Hello Jefferino, Welcome to BenzoBuddies!

I've seen dependence to the drug occur in as little as 10 days so it's possible your body has grown dependent as well.  These drugs are only recommended to be used for 2-4 weeks but from what I've seen here, this is too long, by 4 weeks time, it's already too late.  Not everyone will have a difficult time getting off of these drugs but for those like us, it's a nightmare, I hope you won't have a problem.

Is it your wish to taper, and by the way, they're all dangerous.  Xanax has the shortest half life which means you need to take it more often but Klonopin and Valium are just as powerful.

If you'd like to see the taper methods we support, please check out our Planning your taper (Taper Plans) board.

And if you'd like member feedback, feel free to start a thread on the Withdrawal Support (during your taper) board.

Have you noticed any odd symptoms like what is described in chapter 3 of  The Ashton Manual, this might help you know if you've become dependent.

We're glad you found us.

Pamster

Thanks!

It's difficult to tell because there is a whole lot I am anxious about now:  :D