Please Check, and if Necessary, Update Your BB Account Email Address as a Matter of Urgency ×
New Forum: Celebrating 20 Years of Support - Everyone is Invited! ×
  • Please Donate

Donate with PayPal button

For nearly 20 years, BenzoBuddies has assisted thousands of people through benzodiazepine withdrawal. Help us reach and support more people in need. More about donations here.

Gastric bypass

[Sc...]

Hello. I’ve been on lorazepam for 19 months and 3 weeks ago everything went sideways. What used to help so well, gives me hell. I had the gastric bypass surgery in 2001 and medications work different in me now. I’ve been withdrawing from the Ativan since early august 2020. First I had no idea what was going on. Them I realized that every time I took a lorazepam, I’d feel anxious and heart rate went crazy. All my Drs know about my surgery. But the psychiatrist, which was compassionate and understanding at first, doesn’t care. First she told me to just stop the lorazepam and try lexipro. 2 trips to the ER and now she’s telling me it’s all in my mind, bear through it and do jumping jacks. I’m going through hell and I don’t think I’ll survive this. I switched psychiatrists, but I have no trust that he’ll be any different. I have Medicaid and Drs in Fresno Ca do really give quality care to people like me. How am I going to get through this. I just found out that an old friend that killed herself was because benzodiazepines. 2years ago. I have no hope

Lorazepam is a really poor choice for someone who has had gastric bypass since it will have its already short half-life shortened even further (most benzodiazepines are lipophilic, getting distributed into and stored by the body's fat cells).