Please Check, and if Necessary, Update Your BB Account Email Address as a Matter of Urgency ×
New Forum: Celebrating 20 Years of Support - Everyone is Invited! ×
  • Please Donate

Donate with PayPal button

For nearly 20 years, BenzoBuddies has assisted thousands of people through benzodiazepine withdrawal. Help us reach and support more people in need. More about donations here.

Caretaker/family support for protracted withdrawal

[Di...]

Hi,

this is my first time ever posting in a forum, so I hope I don’t mess things up. I tried to figure out how to post under caretaker and family support, but couldn’t figure out how to do that.

My father is dealing with severe akathisia from benzodiazepine protracted withdrawal. To say it has been a nightmare and terrifying for all of us going through it as we try to help him is an understatement. 

everything I read, says to expect time being the greatest healer. He had his final dose of Ativan mid February. After he went through that final withdrawal, he seemed to be back to normal. Literally two weeks of bliss. But then had two very stressful situations happen back to back, and it caused him to relapse into protracted withdrawal and severe akathisia. 

We have learned so much about this horrible condition through Jordan Peterson, and many other stories with YouTube channels of doctors trying to get the information out. 

Currently my oldest brothers and my husband are taking shifts helping my mom during the days and nights. 

our family is a strong, Christian family. I have 6 siblings, most are all adults now, but we are caring for my youngest brother (16) as this would be too damaging for him to be around my dad in his current mental state. My dad was a therapist for many years and has been a man much like Jordan Peterson with such wisdom and strength. To see him in such a state as this is like living a nightmare.