Please Check, and if Necessary, Update Your BB Account Email Address as a Matter of Urgency ×
New Forum: Celebrating 20 Years of Support - Everyone is Invited! ×
  • Please Donate

Donate with PayPal button

For nearly 20 years, BenzoBuddies has assisted thousands of people through benzodiazepine withdrawal. Help us reach and support more people in need. More about donations here.

Feeling fear for no reason

I still continue to feel fear for no reason, especially in the morning when first waking up.  Is this a common symptom for others and does it ever leave?

AM anxiety has been a lifetime problem for me, whatever the medication I've been on.  I have generalized anxiety disorder and it's the anticipatory fear that usually gets to me the worse.  Things haven't changed much regardless of the fact that I've been lowering the dosage of benzos for over two years now. And, I think you'll find that a pretty common problem around here with most members.  Staying in bed and ruminating about what you'll feel like or what will happen during the day when you're up and around doesn't work well for me. It's important to stick to daily routines and plan morning activities that you'll look forward to when awakening.  You can always hope that this aspect of life will change, but I'm 72 now and it's still a daily part of my life. 

• Love 1

Thanks for the reply.  I should mention this does not feel like it is psychological, as if I am thinking of anything to cause this fear.  Rather, it feels like  I am standing on the edge of a cliff looking down the moment I open my eyes in the morning, before a thought even enters into my mind.  I feel overwhelming fear coursing through my body but there is nothing wrong going on or even a thought in my mind to feel this way.

• Like 2

27 minutes ago, [[S...] said:

I still continue to feel fear for no reason, especially in the morning when first waking up.  Is this a common symptom for others and does it ever leave?