Please Check, and if Necessary, Update Your BB Account Email Address as a Matter of Urgency ×
New Forum: Celebrating 20 Years of Support - Everyone is Invited! ×
  • Please Donate

Donate with PayPal button

For nearly 20 years, BenzoBuddies has assisted thousands of people through benzodiazepine withdrawal. Help us reach and support more people in need. More about donations here.

Anti depressant before starting taper?

A psychiatrist I saw wants me to begin an ssri before starting the benzo taper. He says it will help me better withstand the taper process. I'm on 3mg ativan nightly. Experiencing a goid amount of tolerance withdrawal. 

Is this a helpful step? 

In fact,  my tolerance symptoms are so bad,  I do not know if I can stand having a new medication and understanding if it's the right one for me.

Hello @nlav it seems you have a few options here. I’m no taper expert just some ideas. 
Firstly, the 3mg Ativan night dose is unusual - mostly I believe it would be taken several times per day say for example 1mg 9am 3pm 9am so that you take dose regularly over 12 hours. It has a short life which causes these tolerance issues. 
It would be helpful to know how long you have been taking Ativan and why.

Secondly, you could consider switching over to diazepam which has a long life. 

Personally, would caution adding in an SSRI. Getting stabilisation on the Ativan or switching to diazepam seems to me the better way forward. 
Am sure others more knowledgeable will have experience but FWIW just some initial thoughts. 

• Like 3

I’d suggest researching Tripetal. Another member here told me about it. It’s not an a/d but is used as an adjunct med-successfully-for benzo withdrawal.

Whatever you try I would suggest beginning with a micro dose.

To add, you might want to do a Gene Test which will tell exactly what medications are appropriate for your unique system.

• Like 1