Please Check, and if Necessary, Update Your BB Account Email Address as a Matter of Urgency ×
New Forum: Celebrating 20 Years of Support - Everyone is Invited! ×
  • Please Donate

Donate with PayPal button

For nearly 20 years, BenzoBuddies has assisted thousands of people through benzodiazepine withdrawal. Help us reach and support more people in need. More about donations here.

Rough patch!!

Hi all,  I've been tapering from Valium 20mg since September 2023 (5 months) and have gotten down to 13.5 mgs.  I've been tapering the last few months at 10% a month and was doing well. But the last 8 days I've hit a really bad wave.  Depression and very elevated anxiety.  Not sure how I can go months with being ok to getting slammed like this.  Is it some arbitrary wave , have my cuts caught up to me?  Should I hold or up dose?  Not sure what to do. Any insight or suggestions would be welcome

@[Wi...], @[Pa...], @[Li...]

Thanks in advance for any replies!!

Have you been on the 13.5mg just 8 days or longer?  I'm not so experienced as I destroyed my own taper, but I would hold a couple weeks.

Edited by [Si...]

I've been on 13.5 mg. Now for 9 days.  I usually cut 2.5%  every 7 days

And thanks for your reply!!

Edited by [al...]

Hey @[al...],

When I got down to the lower doses, it got harder for me, maybe that's what's going on with you too.  I think @[Si...] is right,  I think holding might be the best option for now and see if things improve a bit. 

• Like 1

I agree with @[Si...] and @[Bu...], holding sounds like a good idea and after you stabilize, you might want to hold your reductions longer.

Valium has such a long half life, you may be making your next reduction before your body has fully realized the last one.  I’ve read quite a few members mention this, the cuts seem to stack up and you get hit really hard when they do. 

• Like 1

[68...]

Hi @[al...]