Please Check, and if Necessary, Update Your BB Account Email Address as a Matter of Urgency ×
New Forum: Celebrating 20 Years of Support - Everyone is Invited! ×
  • Please Donate

Donate with PayPal button

For nearly 20 years, BenzoBuddies has assisted thousands of people through benzodiazepine withdrawal. Help us reach and support more people in need. More about donations here.

New* beginning taper from clonazepam

Hi all. I’ve been taking clonazepam for almost 3 years, and before that was on Xanax. So I’ve been on benzodiazepines for about ten years. My psychiatrist is helping me taper down starting in a few weeks. I am absolutely petrified. I’m not good with bodily discomfort, and I’m wondering if anyone has taken clonodine (she recommended that to lessen withdrawal symptoms) have found it helpful?

Hi @[Ra...]

Welcome to BenzoBuddies!

I know tapering can be really scary in the beginning. But once you're in rhythm, and it's part of your daily routine, the initial fear subsides and it becomes easier to manage. It's also worthwhile to know, that not everyone suffers when they taper. I was functional throughout my taper - it wasn't easy - but I definitely wasn't in benzo hell. My starting dose was 2mg Clonazepam and I'm now just over a year off.

I don't know much about Clonodine unfortunately, but I hope some of our members will be able to share their experiences. Did your psychiatrist say what symptom she will be prescribing it for?

Thank you so much this definitely calmed my nerves. The clonidine is supposed to help lessen symptoms such as nausea, vomiting, headaches, etc. 

Also- I work with autistic peers and I’m very nervous about how I’m going to feel at work when I need to be alert and basically on the ball for every 1:1 therapy session. Would you recommend giving my boss a heads up?

Thankfully they have proven to be very understanding and kind.