Please Check, and if Necessary, Update Your BB Account Email Address as a Matter of Urgency ×
New Forum: Celebrating 20 Years of Support - Everyone is Invited! ×
  • Please Donate

Donate with PayPal button

For nearly 20 years, BenzoBuddies has assisted thousands of people through benzodiazepine withdrawal. Help us reach and support more people in need. More about donations here.

Otitis, earache, antibiotic

I have been off benzodiazepines for 33 months and have made great progress.

But around January 5, the hate started to hurt, at first it was a little mild, I thought it would heal on its own, but as time went by the pain and discomfort got a little worse.
I had to go to the emergency room at a public hospital, they supposedly diagnosed me with "otitis" and prescribed Amoxicillin 500 and ear drops (Ciprofloxacin/Hydrocortisone). It is my first time taking antibiotics after so long and it is my first time having a case of these.
I wanted to ask if anyone has gone through the same thing, what do you recommend, what can I do?

dose:
amoxicillin 500 every 12 hours and 3 drops every 12 hours.

These penicillin based antibiotics should not have any negative interaction with benzos from my recent experience. 

Hello @[...],

The fluoroquinolone class of antibiotics is counter indicated for those on benzos or in withdrawal. The Ciprofloxacin is in this class. Some people have reported no issues with these drugs while others have reacted. I think I would see if there is a different ear drop that would be effective for this condition. Additionally, some people react to steroids. I do not have problems with them personally, but again some people react negatively. 

@[...] in past, I’ve had a spray called Otomize (TEVA) that included a corticosteroid for inflammation, neomycin sulfate broad spectrum antibiotic & anti bacterial to clear infection. 
Hope this info may be of use. And that you get some relief 

Edited by [Ka...]

All this information is worth gold to me.